The First Novel.

I can honestly say, I had hoped I would get it done sooner.

despair and hoplessness fro writers is real.
Despair and hopelessness for writers is real.

But I didn’t. It wasn’t a total fail, after all I HAVE a finished novel, it’s just life got in the way, and you feel guilty. At least, I did.

I have nothing but great admiration for best-selling authors who can knock out top-selling amazing novels each month, pose for a pic looking awesome, while I struggle to achieve anything resembling human until at least midday. Okay, I have a long-term health issue to contend with, and I am completing a PhD, but I only have two kids at home now, so I should have more free-time for writing, most importantly, I have an incredibly supportive husband.

Finally, I have finished my novel, all in all, it has taken me the best the part of a year. The release date has been put back, but at last it’s ready to rock!

I found that having the right support has been vital to my process. Without that I would still be thrashing away at my very old and battered Mac, doubting my writing, in fact doubting my very existence. That is the effect being a writer has on you.

DOUBT.

Such a small word that will eat you from deep inside, and gnaw away at your self- worth and your time. When you write, it’s rare that you know others at the start who have been in your position, and who have shared experiences. Yet they exist. Take a look at all the writers memes available, or maybe don’t, save it for when you have time to procrastinate.

SUPPORT.

Who is your support network? Do you have one? You family, might be there for you for so long, but when you shove endless reams of paper at them, demanding their thoughts and approval, they might get bored. Having a group of people who know exactly what you need, how and when is so important. Take time to find the right support for you. These are not the people who agree with everything you say, but will challenge you to WHY you said it.

FINDING THE RIGHT PATH

After years of prior research, taking writing courses and reading as many ‘How to’ books on creative writing as I did novel’s I gathered it all up and formatted a plan of action.

Over the the last two years I have been teaching aspects of this course in ten week chunks. Now, as an author not just a writing coach, I feel confident that what I have been developing and refining is ready to roll as a one year experience. It’s more than just a course.

For the next twelve months, I will take a small group of individuals along on a journey of self discovery as they write their first novel. Support is paramount to achieving, along with motivation. I will be there with you each step of the way. I will guide you over hurdles, I have fallen at help; you are concerned of putting things off, don#t worry! I am the Queen of that and help you to avoid it by changing your mindset.

The EUPHORIA of finishing that first draft is what I want all of you to feel.

I am still smiling at the thought that I, little old me, completed a novel. WOW! Not only that but have started the next ones, and now have a list of more planned projects.

Even if you stop at one, you have completed something, A LOT of people give up on. It’s something to be proud of. I know I am.

Through His Eyes Amanda J. Allen out 2020

To join the ‘Novel in a Year’ course click here.