Act 2 a.k.a. Week 5 begins

The last four weeks have flown by!

From being a total newby to scriptwriting to now being comfortable to use premise, treatments and loglines.

Tagline:               When BFF’s want more they will go to any extremes.

Logline:             ‘Wannabe’ teen wanting her idol’s life of fame and fortune, seeks to make her name through reality tv with dire consequences.

My first short film script in an adaptation of one of my short stories from a collection of ten, called Written in Stone. the first one is named Covet. I don’t to give too much away just yet, but it’s not all plain

As a writer, the transition from creative to script, is more difficult than at first it seems. Leaving the prose behind, is a skill in itself, but with using the step outline and writing each scene by scene really helped.

Being forced into brevity was actually a good thing, it made me focus more on the character arc and the story arc itself, and helped to refine the smaller discrepancies you don’t always notice with your own work.

As a starting point traditional scriptwriting documentation is has been great, will I stick with it? At the moment yes, as I mentioned it is easing the transition from creative writer to script writer, and while I still do both styles, I will use all I can to make my writing work.